Heritage Mississauga (Mississauga Heritage Foundation) Announces ‘the Credits” 2019 Award Recipients

MISSISSAUGA, October 28, 2019- Heritage Mississauga will be hosting “the Credits” on Friday November 8, 2019 at the Mississauga Grand Banquet and Event Centre.

“the Credits” is an annual spectacle that honours the contributions of individuals, groups and businesses that contribute to the celebration of the rich cultural heritage of the city of Mississauga.

Heritage Mississauga has changed the award structure this year to acknowledge the achievement and dedication of the nominees and will be awarding all nominees that met the criteria in their respective category.

The theme for the evening will be the historic “Mississauga Miracle” train derailment of 1979. The evening will also honour those who responded to the call of the largest peace time evacuation in North American history.

The program has been amended to allow for a true celebration of the evening as attendees are invited to dress in 1970’s attire and dance to music of the 70’s. A prize will be awarded for the best dressed.

Heritage Mississauga is pleased to announce the recipients of “the Credits” awards for 2019:

Lifetime Achievement Award
Hazel McCallion

President’s Award
Gil Moore

Chairman’s Award
Anu Srivastava

Heritage Champion Award
Senator Victor Oh

Betty Ross Memorial Volunteer Award
John Pegram

Heritage Legacy Award
Annemarie Hagan
Mississauga Central Lions Club

Mississaugas of the Credit Cultural and Heritage Award
Sam Cooper

Cultural Heritage Award
Alexandra Montealegre
Canada Latino Experimental Theatre (CLET)
Indigenous Spirit Journey Program
Manos Unidas
Maria Fátima Esteves
Mississauga Board of Chinese Professionals & Businesses (CPB)
Nitin Sawant
Vikas Kohli
Visual Arts Mississauga “Days to Remember” Book
Isabel Cuellar

Volunteer Heritage Award
David Sanderson
Frank Stendardo
Jenny Dale
Leslie Zurek-Silvestri
Linda Amos
Pierre Wong
Resty del Rosario

Community Heritage Award
Angela Chao
Angie Câmara
ICNA Relief Canada
Khawla Taha
Mississauga Big Band Jazz Ensemble
Portuguese Cultural Centre of Mississauga Folklore Group

Heritage Business Leader Award
Colin Tyler
Don McVie
Erick Marroquin
Nations Fresh Foods

Modern Heritage Award
Pam Banks
Rock The Coliseum
Visual Arts Mississauga Building

Youth Heritage Award
Selena Xu
Memory Kits – Small Arms Society, Centennial College
Sumayya Mehmood

Natural Heritage Award
Mississauga Executive Centre
Jim Judge

Architectural Heritage Award
Crooked Cue
Rock’n Docs

Please join us on Friday November 8, 2019 at the Mississauga Grand Banquet and Event Centre (35 Brunel Road Mississauga, ON L4Z 3E8).

Registration: 5:00 p.m.
Program Begins (Dinner & Awards): 6:00 p.m.

$75.00 each or $650.00 for a table (10 attendees)

We would like to thank our 2019 “the Credits” sponsors:


A not-for-profit charity Heritage Mississauga works closely with the community on assisted and independent research relating to Mississauga’s history and modern developments.

Heritage Mississauga (Mississauga Heritage Foundation Inc.) is a not-for-profit charitable organization dedicated to promotion of local heritage.

Heritage Mississauga’s MISSION is “research, record and celebrate Mississauga’s rich and diverse heritage”.

Heritage Mississauga’s VISION is to be “Mississauga’s Heritage Source.”

Our shared heritage is an important element in fostering and maintaining Mississauga’s sense of community, pride and history. Together with the support of community groups, corporations and individuals, Heritage Mississauga will continue to accept the challenge of promoting awareness of the community’s most precious non-renewable resource.

Media Contact:

Name: Kelly Ralston
Title: Administrative & Research Assistant
Phone: 905-828-8411 ext. 0
Email address:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *